Player Profile: Laurel Jay

DSC00288 This profile is featuring talented O-line handler Laurel Jay. A product of Vancouver’s strong junior ultimate program, Laurel is in her 4th year of playing with the TBirds. Laurel brings a lot of skill to the O-line – her speedy spin-move handler cuts are unstoppable and her sticky hands are always making clutch grabs. One of the most consistent and reliable handlers on this team, you can always count on Laurel to get open for the dump and get those around breaks off. Always having fun and always with a smile on her face, Laurel brings a ton of positivity to the TBirds.

Laurel throwing a backhand around break at the Northwest Challenge Cup 2014.

Laurel throwing a backhand around break at the Northwest Challenge Cup 2014. Photo courtesy of Tino Tran.

The basics

Name: Laurel Jay
Height: 158cm
Age: 21
Field of study: Commerce
Position: O-line handler

Any nicknames?

I go by Baby Jay (BBJ) on this team when I started as a rookie first year. But now I’m one of the few adults on this very new team!

How did you first hear about ultimate? 

My very first introduction to the sport was in grade 5, my teacher Milo played VUL and introduced the class to ultimate in PE. I couldn’t throw, but I could read discs well and would run them down even if they went out. No one actually knew the rules though, we thought that if you caught it out of bounds, you could just walk it back to the sideline, tap it in, and continue playing. I’d like to think that this fostered my mentality of never giving up on a disc…

Laurel with a pancake catch in the rain at Douglas Bowl 2014.

Laurel with a pancake catch in the rain at Douglas Bowl 2014. Photo courtesy of Jeff Bell of UltiPhotos.

Do you have a player you most look up to?

Any of the captains or coaches that I have played with over the years have been the most influential players to me. 

What’s your favourite ultimate throw?

My favourite throw is definitely the backhand break… I also really enjoy throwing scoobers, but I have yet to use one in a game. 

What do you do outside of frisbee?

Going to school. Shopping. Hiking. Drinking Coffee. I used to figure skate competitively back in the day. I’m also pretty handy with a sewing machine and I’ve made dresses from scratch.

Club team/pro team/any teams outside TBirds you play on?

I played on the Team Canada U23 Women’s team this past summer.

Laurel makes a layout grab at Douglas Bowl 2013.

Laurel makes a layout grab at Douglas Bowl 2013. Photo courtesy of Jeff Bell of UltiPhotos.

Have you ever lived outside of Vancouver?

I was born and raised here, but in the fall of 2012 I went on exchange to Stockholm, Sweden for a semester.

Laurel is currently finishing up her 4th year at UBC and graduating from the Sauder School of Business. This year she has juggled working for the Canucks, TAing, working at the UBC bookstore, and managing the team finances on top of her regular life. Check out our fundraising page for info on how to support Laurel and the rest of the UBC TBirds Ultimate Team. 

Leave a Reply

